Episode 7

LOCATION: FIRLE

Although 18th Century in appearance, Firle Place was originally built in Tudor times on the site of an earlier house by Sir John Gage. Much of the original building remains beneath the eighteenth century masonry and plasterwork of the house we see today.

Significant features within the house include the screen of fluted Ionic columns in the Drawing Room designed by William Kent and the distinctive Long Gallery, which is thought to have been designed by Colen Campbell.

Welcome to Firle. One of England's finest country estates.

 

The Rounds:


Round 1: Valuation

A Spode porcelain image handled chocolate cup, cover & stand, circa 1820-25.
£1800 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

Decorative paste 'Amethyst' hair piece. 1890.
£1700 | Michael Rose | www.michaelrose.com

Mounted Hurricane Fighter Plane Yoke.
£1450 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

 

A Persian "Order of the Lion and the Sun" Medal set.
£950 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

Porcelain Sevres Style Jewellery Casket
£250 | Private Collection.

 

Zebra foot and ash tray.
£150 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Replica Pele signed shirt.
£120 | Bloomsbury Auctions | www.frasersautographs.com

Bottle of wine.
£30 | Private Collection

Vintage Enamel sign.
£100 | Private Collection

Needlework sampler.
£90 | Private Collection.


Round 2: Distinctly Vintage

Cars kindly supplied by:

Brooklands
 www.brooklandsmuseum.com

Chariots Cars
www.chariotschauffeurs.com


Round 3: Bamboozle

All items kindly supplied by The Morris Collins Collection


Round 4: Masterpiece

19p Christmas Stamp illustrated by Quentin Blake for Christmas 1993. Very fine unmounted o.g. partially perforated bottom marginal block of four, the left hand vertical pair completely imperforate.
£10,000 | Stanley Gibbons | www.stanleygibbons.com

Very Large Old Sheffield Plate Silver Salver circa 1800.
£1000 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

17th Century Chinese blue and white Kangxi bowl.
£390 | JAN Fine Art | www.jan-fineart-london.com

A chinese marital arts book annotated by Bruce Lee stamped with his name and address.
£15,000 | Bloomsbury Auctions | www.frasersautographs.com

A 17th/18th century style religious icon of Madonna and child.
£300 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

An 18th Century portrait of a lady holding a miniature of her husband. £1750 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

An 18th Century portrait of a lady holding a miniature of her husband.
£1750 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

A 19th Century Charles Edward Viner travelling timepiece with one month movement.
£32,000 Anthony Woodburn | www.anthonywoodburn.com

A 20th Century Murano hand blown goblet by Salviati.
£280 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

 

A space Jacket signed by Alan Bean of Apollo 12 the 4th Man on the Moon. All signed in silver to the right hand side.
£300 | Autografica | www.autografica.co.uk

London 1669 Large Silver Tankard.
£12,970 | I Franks | www.ifranks.com

Mughal Empire Mohammed Shah 1719. Gold Mohur, 10.85g, Dar al-Khilafat Shahjahanabad.
£720 | Baldwins | www.baldwin.co.uk

A large light blue page extracted from a scrap book featuring "The Beach Boys" written in coloured pen by the owner of the book. Signed across the front in blue and black biro pen inks by all five members of the band, Bruce Johnston, Al Jardine, Carl Wilson, Brian Wilson and Mike Love.
£400 | Bloomsbury Auctions | www.frasersautographs.com