Episode 5

Location: Parham

Parham is one of the country’s finest Elizabethan Houses, complete with a Great Hall and Long Gallery. Its tranquillity and timeless beauty have changed little over the centuries.

The Pearsons found it in a dilapidated state of repair, and employed the architect Victor Heal to help them carry out a major renovation and conservation of the building during the 1920s and 1930s. They researched meticulously the architectural features they found, restoring them using traditional methods of craftsmanship.

FirleGalleryAndy13.jpg
 

The Rounds:


Round 1: Valuation

Silver regimental napkin rings.
£1600 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

Rare Victorian gilt brass dog collar with intricate metalwork and semi precious stones set in velvet.
£1000 | Maison Dog | www.maisondog.co.uk

John Speed map of Buckinghamshire. Circa 1612, first edition county map.
£880 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Badge of the now defunct Royal Guelphic order dating 1820 later converted to Masonic Order.
£600 |

Black and gold coffee decorated shop display tin with three mahogany lids.
£410 | Private Collection

'Margaret Ogilvy', a memoir of his mother, signed and inscribed "Yours Sincerely J. M. Barrie",
£280 | Sophie Dupre | www.sophiedupre.com

19th century porcelain figure with goat.
£180 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Black vase. Mid 20th century, black and gilt continental glass.
£50 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Art deco style Diamante Bracelet.
£150 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Steering Wheel from mark 2 Ford Cortina (1968-71).
£140 | Private Collection.



Round 3: Bamboozle

All items kindly supplied by The Morris Collins Collection


Round 4: Masterpiece

Bangle and Clip set. Gifted from Queen mother to lady in waiting. Designed by Morman Hartnell, Royal designer.
£12,000 | Lucas Rarites | www.lucasrarities.com

Sterling Silver Chalice London 1961 by R.E Stone.
£490 | Bryan Douglas | www.bryandouglas.co.uk

Map of Middlesex.
£320 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Large Derby Vase 1810, probably Thomas Steele statement piece.
£14,000 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

Indian Tabla Drum 1910.
£270 | Private Collection

French "Etain" Sculpture of a Horse.
£120 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Pressed Oval Tea Caddy - Tortoiseshell 1515.
£10,000 Hampton Antiques www.hamptonantiques.co.uk

1990 34p RSCPCA. Unmounted right hand marginal stamp with queens head and face value missing.
£1000 | Stanley Gibbons | www.stanleygibbons.com

A pair of pink silk ballet shoes by Freed of London worn by Margot Fonteyn.
£3500 | Suttons and Robertsons | www.suttonsandrobertsons.com

Great War Mesopotamia Posthumous 22nd November 1917 Rifle Grenade Practice Albert Medal, 2nd Class, Bronze Land version awarded to Lieutenant A.R. Waddams.
£10,000 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

Trousers worn in Mini-Me fight scene by Mike Myers.
£1800 | Fundraising Auctions | www.fundraising-auctions.co.uk

Louis XVI Style candelabra on Stands.
£2000| The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk