Episode 20

LOCATION: FIRLE

Although 18th Century in appearance, Firle Place was originally built in Tudor times on the site of an earlier house by Sir John Gage. Much of the original building remains beneath the eighteenth century masonry and plasterwork of the house we see today.

Significant features within the house include the screen of fluted Ionic columns in the Drawing Room designed by William Kent and the distinctive Long Gallery, which is thought to have been designed by Colen Campbell.

Welcome to Firle. One of England's finest country estates.

 

The Rounds:


Round 1: Valuation

A Chinese wood root carving of an immortal god from 18th/19th century.
£1950 | JAN Fine Art | www.jan-fineart-london.com

Taxidermy Victorian Black Cockatoo.
£1000 | Animatronic | www.animatronicanimals.com

A 19th Century Porcelain Figure by Meissen.
£1200 | Private Collection

Bristol Blue Glass Bowl dating from the mid 19th century.
£950 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

Finely shaped oval 18th century Sheffield Plate Tea Caddy.
£500 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

An early 20th century Spelter Figure.
£400 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

White Tang Dynasty Style Horse.
£300 | Private Collection

Special edition Wet and Wild Barbie 1980's.
£20 | Private Collection

Dracula (Stoker). 1912. Later edition.
£200 | George Bayntun Fine Bindings and Rare Books | www.georgebayntun.com

Early 20th century glazed pottery jug.
£80 | Private Collection.


Round 2: Distinctly Vintage

Cars kindly supplied by:

Basingstoke Classic Car Club
www.b-ccc.com


Round 3: Bamboozle

All items kindly supplied by The Morris Collins Collection


Round 4: Masterpiece

15th century Celadon ware bowl with moulded decoration of peonies and chrysanthemum flowers. Hand incised, rare and in good condition.
£24,000 | JAN Fine Art | www.jan-fineart-london.com

A lovely quality Regency period (1825) Old Sheffield plate silver soup tureen, cover & liner, with heavy cast melon and scroll feet and with a melon finial to the cover. Engraved with a crest to the cover and an armorial to the base.
£1000 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

George Lazenby signed dinner jacket.
£150 | Autografica www.autografica.co.uk

An imposing 1865 William and Mary spring table clock by Daniel Quare. The ebony and gilt metal mounted case has typical Quare corner escutcheons and bold carrying handle. The eight-day duration movement with quarter repeating mechanism, verge escapement and a foliage engraved backplate around the maker’s signature.
£95,000 | Anthony Woodburn | http://www.anthonywoodburn.com/

10d Turquoise-blue "Photogravure". Superb used example on registered postcard to San Jose, Costa Rica cancelled by a Northern District Office cds for the first day of issue FE.24.1936 with a Registered datestamp below for the same day and a London N.W. registration label at left.
£1000 | Stanley Gibbons | www.stanleygibbons.com

H & C Shayer - Figures and Horses in a Landscape, dating from the 19th century. £2000 | McMillan Fine Art | www.mcmillanfineart.com

H & C Shayer - Figures and Horses in a Landscape, dating from the 19th century.
£2000 | McMillan Fine Art | www.mcmillanfineart.com

An extremely rare, historic 8x10" photograph signed and inscribed by both John and Jacqueline Kennedy individually.  We believe this to be a photo graph by Lisa Larson who was the Kennedy's wedding photographer.
£10,000 Frasers Londonwww.frasersautographs.com

A 1995 Ladies Louis Vuitton Speedy 25. Brown canvas with gold hardware.
£490 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

19th Century Cloisonné vase.
£500 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

1890 Period silver and yellow gold floral design Tiara. Comprising of three principal stones 1.93, 1.71 and 1.48 cts. The remaining stones have a total diamond weight of approximately 8 cts. Tiara converts to a necklace.
£55,000 | Michael Rose | www.michaelrose.com

 

Silvered bronze chariot figure on marble base.
£970 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Plaster bust of Russian general Tsar Nicholas the second.
£1000 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk