Episode 18

LOCATION: KENTWELL

Kentwell is not a 'stately home' but very much a lived-in and loved family home, something it has been for over 500 years. The public see much of the House, including rooms used by the family - usually with obvious signs of use.

Over 150 years ago it was written that 'visitors emerging from the Avenue on a summery evening cannot withold admiration when they see the manifold beauties of Kentwell Hall'. This remains true today.

 

The Rounds:


Round 1: Valuation

Pair of white cherubs from the Queen's Christening cake.
£1280 | Sophie Dupre | www.sophiedupre.com

Antique Fijian tribal wooden throwing club.
£1150 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

Dinky 187 VW Karmann Ghia Coupe.
£750 | Die Cast Gems | www.diecastgems.com

Lucite handbag.
£450 | Circa Vintage | www.circavintage.com

 

1750 large English blue and white Chinese style Delft Dish.
£360 | Parade Antiques | www.paradeantiques.co.uk

Antique apothecary chest and counter.
£290 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Vintage signed Japanese carved skeleton Boxwood Netsuke Signed.
£230 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz. C.1960.
£30 | George Bayntun Fine Bindings and Rare Books | www.georgebayntun.com

Leaded panel containing 12 lantern slides.
£160 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Boat Model.
£120 | Private Collection


Round 2: Distinctly Vintage

1890's. Victorian Fireman’s Uniform Men's Mannequin

First fireman's uniform introduced 1833 grey jacket and trousers with knee high boots and a black leather helmet.

1870's. English Royal Sussex Regiment Full Uniform

Belonged to a Major N. G. Messel. Made of red Melton cloth, collar is edged with gilt lace. Attached at a mid way point to the left hand sleeve is the most beautiful crepe black mourning armband, this would possibly be for the funeral of Queen Victoria.

 

1910's. World War 1 Nurse Uniform

WW2 a shorter and more manageable skirt length, collar and short sleeves. Typical uniform of Queen Alexandra’s Imperial Military Nursing Service. Scarlet trimmed grey 'tippet' signifies a member of the Reserve. Length designed to obscure the chest "to keep the sisters warm and the officers cool". Stiff Alexandra rosette at the back to prevent the sisters falling asleep on duty.

1930's. World War Two Brigadier

Shorter jackets.


Round 3: Bamboozle

All items kindly supplied by The Morris Collins Collection


Round 4: Masterpiece

A small George III ebonised and brass bound bracket clock by Josiah Emery.
£22,000 | Anthony Woodburn | www.anthonywoodburn.com

Prop shield in one of the battle scenes from film Gladiator.
£1000 | Autografica | www.autografica.co.uk

Helmet on stand.
£2200 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

Charles H Schwanfelder 1774-1837. Horse and Dog in a landscape.
£14,000 | McMillan Fine Art| www.mcmillanfineart.com

Hermes navy blue handbag.
£2000 | Private Collection

Large silver plated bowl Circa 1950.
£980 | I Franks | www.ifranks.com

14 carat gold and red enamel Thimble by Faberge, makers mark Henrik Wigstrom circa 1906- 1917.
£10,000 | Sutton and Roberts www.suttonsandrobertsons.com

Victoria (1837-1901), Pattern Crown, 1844, young head left.
£750 | Baldwins | www.baldwin.co.uk

Large amethyst and gold ring.
£500 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Northern Ireland and Falklands War Battle of Mount Tumbledown
£10,000 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

Magnum of Chateau Lynch Bages 1982 vintage.
£700 | Private Collection

Diamond and Aquamarine bar broach in Deco style.
£300 | Private Collection