Episode 17

LOCATION: FIRLE

Although 18th Century in appearance, Firle Place was originally built in Tudor times on the site of an earlier house by Sir John Gage. Much of the original building remains beneath the eighteenth century masonry and plasterwork of the house we see today.

Significant features within the house include the screen of fluted Ionic columns in the Drawing Room designed by William Kent and the distinctive Long Gallery, which is thought to have been designed by Colen Campbell.

Welcome to Firle. One of England's finest country estates.

 

The Rounds:


Round 1: Valuation

A pair of British General Officer's 1830 Box Pattern Epaulettes, housed in their original fitted tin.
£1450 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

Makonde 'Lipiko' dance mask 1930s-1950s.
£1250 | Tribal Gathering | www.tribalgatheringlondon.com

'Christmas Carol' Dickens 1844.
£1000 | George Bayntun Fine Bindings and Rare Books | www.georgebayntun.com

1920's Gebruder teddy bear.
£900 | Sue Pearson Bears and Bygones | www.suepearson.co.uk

Sepia toned signed photograph of Shirley Temple.
£470 | Bloomsbury Auctions | www.frasersautographs.com

Chinese blue and white lidded vase 19th century.
£350 | JAN Fine Art | www.jan-fineart-london.com

Mahogany telescope.
£250 | Private Collection

Early boxed football game "Playing for the cup".
£40 | Brendan Casey Sporting Antiques | www.antiquesports.co.uk

Silver and enamel dressing set.
£200 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Gilt Tudor rose necklace.
£100 | Private Collection.



Round 3: Bamboozle

All items kindly supplied by The Morris Collins Collection


Round 4: Masterpiece

The outstanding Second World War Battle of Britain Czech fighter pilots quadruple Czech War Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, and Medaille Militaire group awarded to Flight Lieutenant J. Keprt, D.F.C., Royal Air Force. Along with a collection of photos, log book and ephemera.
£10,000 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

Medieval Islamic bowl 10th- 12th century.
£1290 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

Noel Coward (and around 50 other actors) signed program.
£1500 | Private Collection

Sir William Russell Flint - "Pretty Girls Outside the Church".
£13,000 | McMillan Fine Art | www.mcmillanfineart.com

 

Milvina Dean signed life jacket, as used in 1997 film "Titanic".
£1200 | Fundraising Auctions | www.fundraising-auctions.co.uk

 

19th century Ormolu and marble mantle clock French. £600 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

19th century Ormolu and marble mantle clock French.
£600 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Edwardian aquamarine diamond and pearl necklace.
£47,000 Michael Rose | www.michaelrose.com

A boxing Glove signed by Mohammed Ali.
£1900 | Fundraising Auctions | www.fundraising-auctions.co.uk

African tribal head 19th/ 20th century.
£350 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

George the Second silver snuffer tray. Paul de Lamenes, London 1739.
£10,770 | I Franks | www.ifranks.com

 

2001 Cartier 18k white gold plated watch.
£1290 | Xupes | www.xupes.com

Photo of Queen Victoria and Royal Family.
£420 | Sophie Dupre | www.sophiedupre.com