Episode 10

LOCATION: KENTWELL

Kentwell is not a 'stately home' but very much a lived-in and loved family home, something it has been for over 500 years. The public see much of the House, including rooms used by the family - usually with obvious signs of use.

Over 150 years ago it was written that 'visitors emerging from the Avenue on a summery evening cannot withold admiration when they see the manifold beauties of Kentwell Hall'. This remains true today.

 

The Rounds:


Round 1: Valuation

Rare 1930 9 carat gold compendium by Asprey.
£1800 | Sutton and Roberts www.suttonsandrobertsons.com

Clarice Cliff berries pattern sugar cone.
£1200 | Quite Bizarre | www.quitebizarre.co.uk

David Boreneaz 'Angel' face prosthetic.
£1000 | The Who Shop | www.thewhoshop.com

Jamaica Inn (Daphne du Maurier). 1936. First edition.
£750 | George Bayntun Fine Bindings and Rare Books | www.georgebayntun.com

William Wilberforce letter.
£400 | Private Collection

Chinese style Oriental vase.
£260 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Silver Plated Wine decanter.
£200 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Vintage model of Rolls Royce.
£40 | The Swan | www.theswan.co.uk

Plaster "film Star" Head.
£100 | Private Collection

Soldiers Queen Mary's Christmas Cigarette Tin.
£130 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk


Round 2: Distinctly Vintage

Murray Arbeid gold and black cocktail dress

In the 1980s, Murray Arbeid designed dresses for both Shirley Bassey and Princess Diana.

Andre Lang sequin one shoulder dress

This dress is a classic example of disco style which featured cinched waists, sequins and manmade materials, all designed to sparkle under the lights at nightclubs.

full length Mcphail dress - English

Strapless dresses were first seen in the 1930s, when the style became known as the 'naked look'.

Purple and gold Lame dress

This dress is an example of lamé fabric, which is made from metallic yarns woven into the cloth.


Round 3: Bamboozle

All items kindly supplied by The Morris Collins Collection


Round 4: Masterpiece

Pair of George III Sterling Silver Candelabra Sheffield, 1795 by Smith and Creswick.
£17,800 | I Franks | www.ifranks.com

All seven UK deluxe hardbacks of Harry Potter series, all 1st print 1st edition.
£2000 | Quite Bizarre | www.quitebizarre.co.uk

An 1815 Painted Sewing Box.
£2350 Hampton Antiques | www.hamptonantiques.co.uk

Yoruba Shrine from Nigeria.
£18,000 | Private Collection

Victorian Large Majolica Centrepiece.
£1200 | Parade Antiques | www.paradeantiques.co.uk

1902 9d Slate-purple and ultramarine stamp. Unmounted marginal block of four.
£1000 | Stanley Gibbons | www.stanleygibbons.com

A 1991 bottle of Glenfiddich "50 Year Old".
£1750 | Whiskey Exchange

An 1825 Regency period Old Sheffield Plate Silver dish & cover, by Creswick.
£900 | David Foord-Brown | www.davidfoord-brown.com

Distinguished Flying Cross, dated '1945', in its original fitted presentation case.
£1790 | London Medal Company | www.london-medals.co.uk

5 piece gents set by William & Son.
£12,000 | Sutton and Roberts www.suttonsandrobertsons.com

Dr. Who Gas Mask featured in the 2005 Dr. Who episode 'The Empty Child'.
£3000 | The Who Shop | www.thewhoshop.com

Unusual Horn Inkwell.
£120 | Private Collection